Music faculty recognized for outstanding contributions in 2021

The College of Liberal Arts announced the 2021 college award winners where staff and faculty are recognized for their contributions to their units, the College, the university, and to their colleagues and their profession/discipline. Dr. Blythe LaGasse and Dr. Erik Johnson were recognized for outstanding contributions to teaching, research, and service in 2021.

Ann Gill Faculty Development Fund

Dr. Blythe LaGasse Promotional PhotoThe Ann Gill Faculty Development Award is funded by generous donors to the College of Liberal Arts through the College’s Great Conversations program. This supports annual awards for outstanding research and creative activity by tenured and tenure-track faculty in the College.

Blythe LaGasse: Dr. LaGasse won this award for her project titled “Musical Creativity in Autism: Exploring Growth through Collaborative Peer Interaction,” which aims to uncover the effects of peer assisted learning on students with Autism Spectrum Disorder to establish more effective classroom development.

Outstanding Engaged Scholarship Award

Erik Johnson Promotional PhotoThe Outstanding Engaged Scholarship Award is presented in recognition of a member of the College who has shown an exemplary commitment to engaged scholarship.

Erik Johnson: Dr. Johnson received this award for his efforts to enhance engagement in K-12 music schools, providing students with the proper support and skills they need to continue to pursue an education in music. The Middle School Outreach Ensemble has “directly benefited more than 1500 middle school- through college-aged music students,” providing the university with beneficial relationships for students, teachers, and the community.