University Symphony Orchestra Concert: A Whole New World

A Whole New World
With faculty guest artist Drew Leslie, Trombone

This concert will be presented in-person and via livestream.

The University Symphony Orchestra, directed by Wes Kenney performs pieces that explore a variety of new worlds.

The concert begins with Samuel Coleridge Taylor’s “Danse Negre” from African Suite, Op. 35, a turn of the 20th century work that depicts the Black British composer’s heritage. The orchestra performed Novelletten for strings and percussion last year, but this is the ensemble’s first performance of a work for full symphony by the groundbreaking composer.

Featuring one of the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance’s newest faculty members performing with the orchestra for the first time, Dr. Drew Leslie demonstrates his incredible prowess on what some people call “The Voice of God!” In other words, the trombone. This portion of the concert includes Lars Erik Larsson Concertino for Trombone and Strings, a piece that explores serialism, and Arthur Pryor’s Blue Bells of Scotland.

The concert concludes with the infamous Symphony No. 9 in E minor “From the New World” by Antonin Dvorak, written 1893 after the composer arrived in America. The extraordinary work is both popular and timeless, including the famous “Largo” movement that became the spiritual “Going Home.”

Masks are required for all patrons regardless of age in all areas of the UCA.
Please observe social distancing of 6′ between other patrons in all areas of the UCA.

Concert programs are available in a virtual format only and may be viewed via a QR code available at the performance.

Schedule & Tickets

Nightly at 7:30 pm
Cost: No Charge/ CSU Students, $4/youth (under 18), $12/senior (62+), $14/adult

Organizer: School of Music, Theatre, and Dance
Phone: N/A

1400 Remington St.
Fort Collins, CO, 80523
Loading Map....

Add to your calendar